Unusual week

IMG_0885[1]

What a week. I took my mum to hospital on Tuesday after an acute episode of her chronic heart failure. It was only when the nurse asked me her age that it dawn on me how old she is, 80. She’s my mum, switched on in every sense of the word but she’s 80 and that is quite old. She’s home now and is back to her normal self, but with more medication.

Mum has now relented and will be having a wheel chair, but does not want to be reliant on it. The Doctors also discussed DNR (Do not resuscitate) with her and she has agreed to that. I suppose, as a retired nurse, I have take a different perspective from my sister,

Today is our 29th wedding anniversary, how time has flown. I spoke to Mum, who was as bright as a button, and thought how lucky we all are if only we have the right out look on life.

To celebrate, Nick and I did a 15 mile cycle ride.

Happy but tired!!

Leave a Reply

