Spring Celebrations.

What a wonderful day it was yesterday, crisp and bright. I pent the morning in the garden pruning and planting out new plants to provide a welcoming corridor for the bees. Monk’s Hood was one of them. I sorted out the out-house in the afternoon! The house was built in 1908 and where I store my gardening equipment is where I believe the privy must have been. Dark and cold I can’t think of any other use for it.

Later that afternoon the clouds shuffled over and gave us a down pour of spring rain. Just what the garden needed and it saved me the effort of watering in the new plants. I stood briefly in the out-house when the rain started. How wonderful to just pause and enjoy the percussion created as it touches various items as it falls and how lucky are we to have the amount we need, I reflected.

During the morning I managed to baked some Hot Cross Buns and a Lavender Madeira Cake.

img_07551.jpg
Dried Lavender from last year and Lavender Madeira Cake.

Lavender Madeira Cake adapted from Herbs from a Norfolk Kitchen by Carla Phillips.

INGREDIENTS

200 gm Butter

2 1/2 tablespoons of dried lavender heads

200 gm Sugar

4 eggs

400 gm Self-raising flour

Squeeze of lemon juice.

METHOD

Cream the butter and sugar and gradually add the lightly whisked eggs. Add the lemon juice and lavender heads, fold in the flour.

Bake at 170 degrees C for one and a half hours.

I decorated with lemon icing and a sprinkle of dried lavender flowers.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

