Almost spring

Spring is almost here and now is the time for planning what is to be grown in the garden. I have started at the bottom of the garden, where the fertility is still not too good and so I am having a big push with the ‘no dig’ method of gardening. The area I started with took one compost bins worth of compost and some worm compost, quite a few news papers and one bale of hay. The hay I bought for £3 from a local farmer. In that area I also planted one apple and one cherry tree. I was going to remove a very small hazel/cob tree I planted last year but it has produced some buds and so has had a reprieve this year!

I have another compost bin to empty and this should be sufficient for the other area of the garden that needs attention.The picture below show the area to be worked on.

img_0480

Leave a Reply

